Information about the Norwood, Payneham & St Peters region


The Norwood, St Peters and Payneham area begins where the East Parklands end at DeQuettevilleTerrace. Settled early in South Australian history, it has developed into a lively cultural centre for the Arts and cosmopolitan life.

If you require  information about the facilities and attractions feel free to explore the City of Norwood, Payneham & St Peters Website. These 3 council areas amalgamated in 1997.

Norwood was the first council municipality and the architecture along Norwood Parade reflects its history. St Peters was settled 2 years later in 1836 by migrants who invested in the South Australian Company and its architecture reflects wealthier days. The suburb was named after the school, now St Peter's College. Payneham was also settled  in this year and was named after an early settler.

The City of Norwood, Payneham & St Peters consists of the suburbs and localities of Aldersgate, Beulah Park, College Park, Evandale, Felixstow, Firle, Glynde, Hackney, Heathpool, Joslin, Kensington, Kensington, Gardens, Kensington Park, Kent Town, Knightsbridge, Leabrook, Marden, Marryatville, Maylands, Newstead, Norwood, Payneham, Rose Park, Royston Park, St Morris, St Peters, Stepney, Trinity Gardens. The Mt. Lofty Ranges and foothills, the River Torrens, River Torrens Linear Park, First Creek, Second Creek and Third Creek, the Norwood Oval, The Parade, Magill Road, Adelaide East parklands, the Payneham Oval and St Peters College are significant regional landmarks.

If you require any additional information explore the City of Norwood, Payneham & St Peters Website at or the events section of this website